Skip navigation

Tag Archives: Shahada

From the Previous post, The first pillar of Islam, is the testification of faith also known in Arabic as the Shahada.  This is the bare minimum of being a Muslim.  The first part of the testification is “there is no deity worthy of worship except Allah”.  That is what I will explain in this post.

Before we start with the Shahada(Testification of faith), we must define Tawhid.  Tawhid comes from the root word Wahada, which means ‘to ascribe unity’ to something. Meaning he made something one. So the word Tawhid islamically means unify Allah in his lordship, his names and attributes, and his rights to be worshiped. These are the three types of Tawhid. These are mentioned in the Qur’an. The first four verses of the Qur’an testify to these.

“All praise is due to Allah, Lord of the worlds.”

  • The Unification of Allah’s lordship.

“The Entirely Merciful, the Especially Merciful.

Sovereign of the Day of Recompense.”

  • The Names and Attributes of Allah.

“It is You we worship and You alone we ask for help.”

  • His rights to be worshiped.

So all three forms of Tawhid are mentioned in these verses. Tawhid Rububiyah(of his lordship), there is only one lord, one creator, one sustainer, Allah. Tawhid Asma wa Sifa’t(his names and attributes), his names and attributes are perfect. And Tawhid Uluhiyah(his rights to be worshiped), Allah is the only one worthy of worship.